Event Reports

Musician and Arts Acquisition of the Year

Musicians and Artist Celebrate Their Talents

On Thursday, 27th October BSE musicians and artist showcased their amazing talents. The day was abuzz with music filtering from every spare practice room in the Theatre as the nervous musicians fine tuned, ready for their performace.

This years talent surpassed everyones expectations, raising the bar to yet a new height.  The night opened with the viewing of all the incredible art work that was displayed for all to make their audience vote.  Ms Alanah Brand's passion for art was clearly visible as she worked along with the students to create the best possible presentation.

Mr Stepen Briggs and his team worked wonders creating a personalised backdrop for each performer.  The night would not have run smoothly without the tireless work of Ms April Chandler.

Artist of the Year Winners

Ms Sandra Bruce, Collections Manager from the Gallery, had the in enviable task of selecting a winner from 29 shortlisted Art Works. 

This Years Artsist of the Year was awarded to Jemima North for her 'Man in Red'l  Contragulations Jemima!

The Audience Choice went to Ericha Smyth for her charcoal portraits.

Highly Commended went to Karla Hall and Sam Hobbs.

Special Significance Year Level Awards went to - Tayla Harris (Yr 7), Paddy Leevers (Yr 8), Bradley Shedden (Yr9), and Annika Ritchie (Yr 10)

Musician of the Year

The audience were enthralled by the twenty amazing performers.  The opening performance by Musician of the year 2015, Sam Watts and Geordie Scarce, set the tone for the rest of the evening.  

Thanks to the judges, Alumni Drew Roberts and Nelson Gardner for sharing their time.  It was a very dificult choice as everyone's standard of performace was amazing.

The Musician of the Year was pianist Maree Whillance playing Toccata.  Congratulations Maree!

The Audience choice went to Thomas Hadlow, on guitar.

Highly Commended went to Patrick Barton Grace on Cello and Thomas Hadlow.

Future Finalist went to Amy Bachmann.

Year 10, Four Year Contribution Awards went to Patrick Barton Grace, Bethany Turner, Dev Evans-Yarrick, Abigail Brighton, Jaspar Austin-Gray, Erin Mannix and Jeremy Waters.

Ensemble Conductor's Choice Award  

Junior Concert Band - Patrick Sebire & Gemma Tie

Senior Concert Band - Genna Guy & Ethan Sansom

Stage Band - Bethany Turner & Dev Evans-Yarrick

Junior Strings Ensemble - Sam Martin & Amelia Bailey

Senior Strings Ensemble - Patrick Barton Grace & Kaitlyn Egan

Chamber Strings Ensemble - Max Harris & Jemma Lyons

Junior Guitar Ensemble - Daniel Blake & Erin Collins

Senior Guitar Ensemble - Jack Barnard & LachlanCareedy

Junior Choir Ensemble - Brock Martin & Isabella Smith

Senior Choir Ensemble - Ben Alfrey & Alyssa Lai